Powered By Blogger
Showing posts with label postcard. Show all posts
Showing posts with label postcard. Show all posts

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Republica Hotel Constanta


1956. Written, not used.

Sfantu Gheorghe "Liberty Square"




1953 card. written, not stamped

Constanta- Seaside promenade



1968 card. Written and stamped(the stamp is damaged).
Mihai Eminescu's statue and the Casino are visible in the picture.

Completed between the two World Wars in art nouveau style according to the plans of the architects, Daniel Renard and Petre Antonescu, the Casino features sumptuous architecture and a wonderful view of the sea. The pedestrian area around the Casino is a sought-after destination for couples and families, especially at sunset.(wikipedia)

University Library Cluj-Napoca

1992 card- written and stamped.

Deva- Multiview


1973 card. Written and stamped with fixed stamp.

Sibiu- Aerial view


1962 card.
Damaged stamp.

Motels


Sarmizegetusa Motel. Written and stamped- 1972.

"Cold Spring" Motel from Sinaia.
Written, but not postally sent.

Slanic Moldova


1972 card. Postally used. Fixed stamp.

Slanic Moldova is a Romanian spa since the second half of the XIXth century, and it's famous for its mineral water springs.

Black Sea views-1950s



1956. Written, but not stamped, nor used. "Rest house" in Mamaia


Same year, same condition. View from Constanta.


Written and sent. Missing stamp. Multi-view from several Romanian seaside resorts.

Sunday, January 6, 2013

"Brothership between people" cinema Bucharest


1950s card. one of the stamps on the back was damaged.
Nowadays there is "Masca" theatre.

Cluj Napoca- "Gh. Dimitrov" Square


1958 card. Sent without a stamp with a "for pay" seal. You can see in the picture the Carolina Obelisk and the Franciscan church. The square is called now :Museum Square


The “Carolina” Obelisk (The Museum Square) is the oldest lay monument of the city. The statue is a commemorative column, set up to commemorate the visit of the Emperor Francis the First and his wife Carolina Augusta, between 18th and 27th of August 1817. The Emperor attended the ceremony, celebrating the Day of Saint Stephan, (August 20th), chaired the meeting and visited the City Hospital.

In order to build the statue, the Emperor's approval was necessary and funding was raised among the inhabitants of Cluj, but the statue was finished thanks to the financial help of the city District Attorney, Topler Imre. It was inaugurated on the 4th of October 1831, on Saint Francis’s Day.

The ten meter obelisk, the angel wearing the effigy in a crown of laurels and the four stone eagles that hold laurels in their peaks are a masterpiece of Anton Csürös and Nagy Samuel. 

Carolina Augusta offered the Hospital from Museum Square a donation and starting with 1818 the hospital bore the name Carolina Hospital, and was destroyed in 1914.

The Carolina Obelisk was initially placed in what is now known as Union Square (the old Great Square). In 1898, during the city restructuring, it was moved to the Museum Square (the old Small Square).

Budapest- multiview


1987. written and stamped postcard

Avram Iancu Memorial House


1972 card. Written, not sent.

Reghin- City Hall


1950s unused card, but bent.

Unknown hero crypt Galati


Not used. 1950s card.